#MuslimBan Executive Order Fact Sheet

“Protecting the Nation from Terrorist Attacks by Foreign Nationals”
Last updated January 31st, 2017, translations will be added.

FOREIGN NATIONAL: people seeking asylum, those with dual citizenship (ex: Iran & Canada, etc), student visas, any worker visas, refugee resettlement, AND those with legal permanent residency (Greencards).


1. BAN ALL FOREIGN NATIONALS FROM ENTERING THE U.S. FROM IRAQ, IRAN, YEMEN, SYRIA, LIBYA, SOMALIA AND SUDAN (All Muslim Majority Countries). This includes banning all re-entry if they are currently out of the country. Their visas will be cancelled at port-of-entry (it doesn’t matter if this is a new visa, greencard or one that you’ve had) and they may be forced to purchase a flight back or need a lawyer.


According to Pew, the United States welcomed almost 85,000 refugees in 2016. Almost half of them were Muslim. Iraq, Iran, Syria, Somalia, and Sudan make up a majority of refugee arrivals in the region. They already cannot enter because the 90 day ban, and now they also cannot enter through refugee resettlement. Muslims being persecuted as minorities in other countries (Ex: Rohingya in Burma) that could have made it through the initial 90 day ban will be banned by the freezing of the resettlement program. Syrian refugees have especially been singled out as their refugee resettlement has been stopped entirely and indefinitely until Trump feels “satisfied” with the resettlement process.


3. START A 1 MONTH LONG REVIEW OF IMMIGRATION PROCESSES FROM ANY COUNTRY TO SEE WHICH COUNTRIES DO NOT PROVIDE “ENOUGH” INFORMATION for the U.S. to approve their admission, visas, green cards, and other immigration benefits (including family sponsorship). If these countries are unable to change their immigration process in 2 months, Trump will ban their nationals from entering the U.S. indefinitely. Even after the review is completed, any countries can be added to the ban. “Values tests” will be added to all immigration interviews, people will be asked about their religious beliefs.

If your countries are not currently on the current 90 day ban, they can be on a more long term ban. In the past, U.S. “national security” registry programs have also targeted Muslim immigrants from Afghanistan, Algeria, Bahrain, Eritrea, Lebanon, Morocco, Oman, Qatar, Tunisia, UAE, Pakistan, Saudi Arabia, Bangladesh, Egypt, Indonesia, Jordan, and Kuwait–immigrants from these countries should expect more difficulty in acquiring a visa to the U.S. And for the 7 countries currently being banned, the ban can extend far beyond 90 days.